Real World Diesel MPG

All Discovery Sport related discussions
WarriorWorld

Real World Diesel MPG

Post by WarriorWorld » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:33 pm

Hi
Newbie here and about to place an order for my first LR this week, but still have nagging doubts having read this forum over last month or so.
Coming from driving a Diesel BMW420 for last 3 yrs and had no major issues with it, and planning on HSE 180 diesel with a couple of options.

With all the negativity around the DPF problems, got me thinking of jumping back to petrol. With the purchase cost very similar (£5 difference on my best quotes), was wondering what real world MPG people are getting from their diesels. I see people on the forum bouncing around mid 20s - 30 for the petrols.

My dilemma is that its used as a privately funded company vehicle. 18 months ago i was doing 18K a year, so Diesel was a no-brainer. Since a job change within the company, i now work largely from home and done around 4K business and 2k private miles in last year. This would make petrol option the sensible choice, but things could very easily change back if i chose to revert to previous position.

Are the Diesels REALLY that bad, is a once a week 60 minute blast on motorways enough to sort the DPF issue, or am i leaving myself open to a world of pain. I would be taking a Service plan out, but closest dealership for me is 45 mins each way - not the easiest trek to make when working, to be constantly dropping off for oil changes.

So what are you guys averaging on the diesels for low to mid mileage trips.

County

Re: Real World Diesel MPG

Post by County » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:37 pm

I also look forward to hearing members views :idea:
:D B 1984 RR Vouge, Then BMW. Back to LR, H 1991 Disco 1, L 1993 Disco, N 1996 Disco, Y 2001 Disco, 53 Disco 2, 56 Disco 3
MY10 FL2 TD4 XS [Nav], MY13 FL2 TD4 GS Auto
MY15 DS SE Tech Auto Firenze Red 2.2 FL engine!

Dashnine

Post by Dashnine » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:54 pm