Discovery Sport Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from Hampshire
I am new to all forums SUVs and LR cars. I (foolishly) have high hopes!

·
Registered
502 Posts
First-SUV,

What made you cancel and what made you come back to a DS? Just the long delivery time for a Q5?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Phil
It all started with a test drive for an A3 seven months ago...but you asked why I came back to the DS. A few days after I first ordered the DS I started reading this forum and started to seriously worry about build quality and so many gremlins. I know forum tend to be places to moan, so I checked out Q5 and other forums. There was so much less noise, especially when you consider how many Q5's are out there. So I cancelled. Also, my nearest RR dealer is 40 miles away and traipsing back for repairs was not going to happen.
So I ordered the Q5 and got a TBC built date of early December. The costs after discounts and extras are basically the same - head / heart trade off. Then I got a call - the build date maybe Feb, but wouldn't confirm until January. The Q5 is being replaced next year, so I would be buying a car just before the new model came out and waiting six months, for an unspecified delivery date.
By this time the DS forum had got a little less 'ugly' and I found out there was a RR service centre 6 miles away. So I ordered again. I am pleased it has turned out this way, and the reviews about the new engine have helped calm a few neves. We also looked at an X3. Nothing wrong with it (well the bench seat is more like park bench), but we didn't like it and just didn't smile once while driving; hated the steering and wind noise.
What did you consider before you settled on yours? And what made you chose the spec, gearbox and wheel size?
Cheers

·
Registered
502 Posts
First-SUV,